Max & Elaine – October 9th

You know those couples, the ones who when you were in high school had been together since grade eight, the ones who you knew still got butterflies when they saw each other, the ones you just KNEW were meant to each other – and the question wasn’t “if” they’d ever get married, the question was “when?”.  That couple for me, was Elaine and Max. I’ve known Elaine since I was four years old, when I was a spoiled Toronto kid and would slap her when she didn’t want to play Barbie’s my way.

I started out “living across the cove”, and moved closer and close to her, so for most of my life she was always “just up the hill”.  Elaine’s family had become my family many many years ago, she stopped being my friend and started being my sister somewhere along the way. We’ve been there from out first heart breaks, to our first kisses (she was even in the room for mine!), to graduating high school and now marriage. It’s hard to picture what my life would have been like had I not had Elaine a 15 second jog up the hill from me. She was the first person I’d call every Christmas morning, she was the first person to take me in during a fight with my parents, and was always there to offer me a hug when I fell for boy after boy and they continuously broke my heart. (What can I say I was boy crazy? I mean, I still am!!)

I remember their first anniversary, their second, third, fourth, fifth… and then I just stopped counting. He makes her smile like there’s no tomorrow, and she still has that sparkle in her eye even after all these years – which cements the fact I’m sure they’ll be together for the rest of their life. I can’t remember the point where it just stopped being Elaine, and started being Elaine and Max – they’re one person in two bodies. (Are you crying yet girls? Haha) Hell, they’re even teachers at the same school in Harbour Brenton!

The entire day we were all fighting back tears, and I was doing an awesome job until I saw Max slip the ring onto her finger. I’ve never been so happy at a wedding in my entire life, as I was at this one. Rain didn’t stop us from rocking outdoor shots – they’re troopers, and she managed to take the Lions Center from a typical “bay” wedding into something out of this world.

As with most weddings, there were a few hiccups throughout the day in regards to other aspects besides photography, but the biggest compliment I’ve ever received at a wedding was from Elaine as we were saying our goodbyes before I left.

“You were the one person I knew I could count on, and the only thing I wasn’t worried about”
I love you two, now make me some babies.

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Maxwell & Elaine

Leave a Reply

