Masonic Temple

The St.John’s Masonic Temple was recently taken over by Spirit of NL, and they’re doing renovations on the building restoring the top floor as it’s taken a beating over the years. I was recently there for a magazine launch ‘Sleeveen Magazine’ and got to talking to one of the fine ladies in charge, she took me on a quick tour of the upstairs of the temple and I immediately fell in love. I then spent the next two weeks trying to arrange a photo shoot there, as I seen it to be very beneficial to my work and to help spread the word that the Masonic Temple is now owned by Spirit of NL.

For anyone interested in the history of the St.John’s Masonic Temple click HERE

I got approved for the shoot, and asked my friend Jenna to be my model for this shoot.

Everything that could have went wrong, went wrong. One of my strobes flew off the platform and smashed the plastic on it, being held together with duct tape while I’m waiting for my alien bees! Then my sb600 stopped working while shooting on the staircase, obviously a higher power didn’t want me to shoot… but I did!

This shoot was SO much fun, the markup artist/hairstylist was FANTASTIC big props to her (Janelle Cox) I had a great assistant and some man power with Amanda and Conrad 🙂

So a HUGE thanks to spirit of newfoundland for helping us put it all together!!

3 responses

  1. Anonymous

    Fantastic shot.
    – Lori Moss

    May 12, 2008 at 12:42 am

  2. Masonic Traveler

    Sandra, the link in the post to St. John’s heritage site is broken.

    I’m curious if you took more images of the former temple? Its a shame to see such lodges close, but with time, I suppose everything changes.

    May 21, 2008 at 4:26 pm

  3. Sandra Elford

    Masonic Traveler, I have multiple photos inside the former temple however the model is in them and she will not let me post any more photos, it’s a shame.

    I agree, to abandon such a beautiful structure is sad indeed.

    Also the link to the St.John’s heritage site has be updated!

    May 21, 2008 at 8:03 pm

Leave a Reply

